Richards Layton & Finger

Dispute Resolution 2012: Delaware

June 2012

The Delaware judicial system consists of the Supreme Court, Court of Chancery, Superior Court, Family Court, Court of Common Pleas and Justice of the Peace Courts. The Delaware Constitution of 1897 also establishes a Court on the Judiciary with power to censure, remove or retire judicial officers for misconduct or failure to perform duties.

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the state. The Court of Chancery and the Superior Court are the trial-level courts of general jurisdiction, appeals from which are directly to the Supreme Court. The Family Court exercises jurisdiction over matters of domestic relations and most offences involving juveniles. The remaining courts are courts of limited jurisdiction.

"Reproduced with permission from Law Business Research Ltd. This article was first published in Getting the Deal Through – Dispute Resolution 2012, (published in June 2012; contributing editor: Simon Bushell, Herbert Smith LLP). For further information please visit"